Bates Motel (2013 – )

Bates MotelRecently, I got into the A&E series Bates Motel.  I remember the previews for the show before it premiered, but I forgot about it when it actually premiered.  I remember thinking it looked good, even though I hadn’t actually seen Psycho (yeah, I know – – un-American).

It was well into the first season before I even realized it had premiered.  Thankfully, I found a place where I can watch it before the second season premieres.

It stars Freddie Highmore as Norman Bates (Charlie and the Chocolate FactoryAugust Rush and The Spiderwick Chronicles), Vera Farmiga as Norma Bates (The Boy in the Striped PajamasSafe House and The Conjuring) and Max Thieriot as Dylan Massett (JumperMy Soul to Take and House at the End of the Street).

The series is a modern re-imagining to Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho (1960), which depicts the early life of Norman Bates and his mother prior to the events in Psycho.  The series begins after the death of Norman’s father.

Bates Motel

Apparently, there are different between the series and the Hitchcock film Psycho.  The series takes place in a fictional town of White Pine Bay, Oregon as opposed to the film taking place in Fairvale, California.  As someone whose never seen the original, it doesn’t make a difference to me.

If you’re looking for a new thrilling, drama-filled show, then this may be the show for you.  Bates Motel Mondays at 10/9 central on A&E.  Season 2 of Bates Motel premieres on March 3 (the day before my birthday!).

Leave a Reply

