Summer Reading List: “The Book of Lies”

I hope you enjoyed the first three books in the Mortal Instruments series (I sure did). Once I picked up “City of Bones,”  I was hooked. I know I said it before, but I really can’t wait for the Mortal Instruments movie to come out next year. If done right, the  movie could be the next phenomenon after “Hunger Games,” even though the “Hunger Games” trilogy isn’t over yet.  But you get my point.

There are three more books in the series, but for now I’m going to take a short break to read a book that’s not in the Mortal Instruments. Don’t fret, though, I will get back to Clary and the gang after I’m finished with “The Book of Lies.”

In Chapter four of the Bible, Cain kills Abel.  It is the world’s most famous murder. But the Bible is silent about one key detail: The weapon Cain used to kill his brother. That weapon is still lost to history.

In 1932, Mitchell Siegel was killed by two gunshots to the chest. While mourning, his son dreamed of a bulletproof man and created the world’s greatest hero:  Superman. And like Cain’s murder weapon, the gun used in this unsolved murder has never been found.

Today in Fort Lauderdale, FL, Cal Harper comes face-to-face with his own family tragedy:  His long-missing father has been shot with a gun that traces back to Mitchell Siegel’s 1932 murder. But soon after their surprising reunion, Cal and his father are attacked by a ruthless tattooed man with the ancient markings of Cain.

So begins the chase for the world’s first murder weapon. It is a race that will pull Call back into his own past even as it propels him forward through the true story of Cain and Abel, an eighty-year-old unsolvable puzzle, and the deadly organization known for the past century as the Leadership.

What does Cain, history’s greatest villain, have to do with Superman, the world’s greatest hero? And what do two murders, committed thousands of years apart, have in common? This is the mystery at the heart of Brad Meltzer’s riveting and utterly intriguing new thriller.

Whew . . . that was a long introduction.  I’ll try not to make an introduction that long again.  But I can’t make any promises.

I found this book at a book sale, where I was able to buy it for $2.  And believe me, it was a great deal.

It’s strange, but I always seem to pick up books with religious themes, whether or not the stories in them are true are not.   Even the Mortal Instruments series has a religious theme.  Afterall, the Nephilim are the children of Angels and humans.  And Jace questions whether or not he believes in God.

“The Book of Lies” is filled with thrilling plot twists and muliple points of views that keep you from putting the book down. I haven’t read any of Brad Meltzer’s other books, but if I saw any of them I sure wouldn’t hesitate to pick them up.

Brad Meltzer, the author of “The Book of Lies”

I hope you enjoy your week of reading!

Leave a Reply

