Summer Reading List: “City of Bones”

For all you students out there who are either not working (like me), or not taking summer classes (like me), I would highly recommend you to spend some time catching up on some reading.

And, no, I don’t mean catching up on reading for school, but catching up on reading for fun.  Reading can be fun!

By the end of the summer, I plan to have read at least one book a week, although a few books may take a little bit longer, and I would like for you to join me.  I plan to suggest to suggest one book to you that I’ve read, that I’m reading, or that I plan to read that I think will be interesting to you.

To start off, I’m going to suggest the first book in the Mortal Instruments series: “City of Bones.” It’s an adventurous, young adult fantasy series that literally has you turning the pages faster than you can read. This will be a book that you can’t put down as with the other books in the series.

Here’s the synopsis on the back of the “City of Bones”:

When Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder. Much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with odd markings. This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons — and keeping the odd werewolves and vampires in line. It’s also her first meeting with gorgeous, golden-haired Jace. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disapperars and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in an ordinary mundane like Clary? And how did she suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know.

In addition to reading the “City of Bones,” be prepared to watch the “City of Bones” movie starring Lily Collins as Clary Fray  (“Abduction,” Mirror Mirror,” & “Priest”) and Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace Wayland (“”Sweeney Todd:  The Demon Barber of Fleet Street” & “The Twilight Saga:  Breaking Dawn — Part 1”) set to be released in August 2013.

Have fun and enjoy your reading!

Leave a Reply

